Latest News


Lissie "Covered Up In Flowers" EP


Lissie will release a new EP Covered Up With Flowers on November 8th, 2011 via Fat Possum. The EP is a collection of five cover songs, featuring her fan-favorite versions of Lady Gaga’s “Bad Romance”, Kid Cudi’s “Pursuit Of Happiness”, and Metallica’s “Nothing Else Matters” – live videos of which have garnered more than five million combined views on YouTube. Highlighting both her artistic versatility and the range of her extraordinary, sun-and-whiskey-soaked voice, Covered Up With Flowers also includes two new covers: Lissie’s soulful, rootsy take on Joe South’s “Games People Play” and a haunting version of Nick Cave’s “The Ship Song”.

The EP will be available exclusively on iTunes a week prior to release, beginning November 1st.


New Releases: 10/11/2011


Yuck "Yuck (Deluxe)"
CD: $14
LP: $16 (pre-order :: release 11/8/11)
MP3 Download: $10.99
iTunes click here to purchase
Amazon click here to purchase

Gross Magic "Teen Jamz"
CD: $9
LP: $11 (pre-order :: release 11/8/11)
MP3 Download: $4.45
iTunes: click here to purchase
Amazon: click here to purchase

Purity Ring / Braids split 7"
LP7: $5
Insound: click here to purchase


Gross Magic Perform Live on Noisey



View live videos for 4 full songs over at NOISEY


Yuck "Soothe Me" NPR Song of the Day


(via NPR)

Musical influence is cyclical and recurrent. During a time of wistful looks back at the rapidly retreating decade of '90s rock, it's just as prudent to look expectantly to the gangs of new talent ready to inherit a legacy.

Yuck's knockout self-titled debut, released in February, didn't pack quite enough punch for the young British players, so they've repackaged the album with six new songs for a "deluxe" edition due out Oct. 11. The bonus tracks are hardly filler, with­ each more than holding its own, and "Soothe Me" stands as one of the more interesting examples. Leader Daniel Blumberg explores the polarities of his vocal range, with a deeper drawl only heard on the original album in "Suicide Policeman" or "Sunday." Blumberg's tone is gravelly, casual and uncharacteristically listless, but he quickly alternates it with a plaintive high-register cry: "Soothe me / Don't use me / I'm not your oxygen." The contrast is affecting.

Thoughthe comparison isn't made often, R.E.M.'s recent dissolution makes Yuck seem all the more valuable. Filling the void with a distinct mix of volume, sensitivity and precocious naiveté, Yuck is there to remind listeners of a time when distorted guitars and unsullied sincerity were
gripping enough.

  Soothe Me by Yuck

Yuck "Yuck (deluxe)" in stores October 11
Buy the MP3 album here or at iTunes
Pre-Order CD & LP


Fanzine To Release Double A-side Single


Roman Holiday by Fanzine

After touring the UK with the likes of The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, Cults, and Yuck, fuzzed out rockers Fanzine are finally set to release their debut single. “Roman Holiday/ My Stupid Brain” will be released as a double A side 7” through Fat Possum on November 22nd. There will also be a CDR version of the single that’ll come with an illustrated fanzine, similar to their self-released debut "EP1". All in all this promises to be a very exciting limited run of 500.


10-11 - White Heat, London
11-13 - HMV Institute, Birmingham*
11-14 - Rescue Rooms, Nottingham*
11-15 - Academy 3, Manchester*
11-16 - Leadmill, Sheffield*
11-18 - Academy 2, Newcastle*
11-19 - Cabaret Voltaire, Edinburgh*
11-20 - King Tuts, Glasgow*
11-21 - 53Degrees, Preston*
11-22 - Wedgewood Rooms, Portsmouth*
11-23 - Waterfront, Norwich*
11-24 - Electric Ballroom, London*
11-28 - XOYO, London^

* with Yuck
^ with Unknown Mortal Orchestra


New Releases: 09/27/11


Youth Lagoon - "The Year of Hibernation"
CD: $13
LP (includes bonus 7"): $14
Cassette: $6
MP3 Download: $8.99
iTunes click here to purchase
Amazon click here to purchase
Insound click here to purchase

Tyler Ramsey - "The Valley Wind"
CD: $13
MP3 Download: $8.99
iTunes click here to purchase
Amazon click here to purchase


Tyler Ramsey Performs Live For Filter


To celebrate the upcoming release of The Valley Wind, the new album by Tyler Ramsey of Band of Horses, FILTER was honored to have Mr. Ramsey stop by their offices to play three new tunes. Recorded in Nashville, Tennessee over the course of six days, Ramsey's third release also features bandmate Bill Reynolds at the production helm and bass as well as guitar and drum work by Floating Action's Seth Kauffman. Watch "1,000 Blackbirds" and "Angel Band" below and stay tuned for a third song next week. (via FILTER)
The Valley Wind is available for preorder now and is out next Tuesday, September 27, on Fat Possum.


Browse By