Temples Return With New Single, “Certainty”

September 26, 2016


English four-piece Temples achieved acclaim with debut album, Sun Structures, a Top 10 UK debut named Rough Trade’s “Album of the Year” for 2014, and performances on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon and The Ellen DeGeneres Show, and festivals including Glastonbury, Bonnaroo, Primavera Sound, Lollapalooza, amongst many others. Leading into their upcoming North American tour, Temples return today with “Certainty,” the first single off the band’s forthcoming album, due out early 2017 via Fat Possum.

iTunes: http://smarturl.it/certainty.iTunes
Spotify: http://smarturl.it/certainty.Spotify

As described by frontman James Bagshaw who produced the single, “when writing the melody for ‘Certainty,’ I wanted to create something with almost an eerie, early Disney vibe, something playful and harmonious, but with a dark twist. Producing the song was as much about layering as it was about sparseness — the verses needed to reveal the thumping motion of the bass and the reflective lyrics, and the melody had to be paired with the right ambience. The chorus was approached in an opposite way, layer after layer, thickening the sound. There’s a blend between moog bass, and actual bass, and the song switches between synthetic and analogue sounds throughout. The guitar mirrors the synth, and visa versa.”

Expect news of Temples’ forthcoming second album shortly, and in the meantime, catch the band — James Bagshaw (vocals, guitar), Tom Warmsley (bass, backing vocals), Sam Toms (drums) and Adam Smith (keys) — throughout North America beginning October 13th.

Temples Tour Dates:

Thu. Oct. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Oct. 14 — Joshua Tree @ Desert Daze
Sat. Oct. 15 — San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Mon. Oct. 17 — Portland, OR @ Star Theater
Tue. Oct. 18 — Seattle, WA @ Crocodile Cafe
Fri. Oct. 21 — St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Sat. Oct. 22 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sun. Oct. 23 — Columbus, OH @ The A&R Music Bar
Mon. Oct. 24 — Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
Wed. Oct. 26 — New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Thu. Oct. 27 — Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Oct. 28 — Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sat. Oct. 29 — Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall