We see you're in the UK!

You may be able to save on shipping by shopping at our UK store.

Blood Visions

Jay Reatard

10/10/2006 | FP1203
Regular price
$ 23.00
Sale price
$ 23.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Release Description

The guitar tone is fuzzy, but through the fuzz you can hear the intricate licks that Mr. Reatard is laying down. The bass and drums don't quite carry as much of the musical weight, but those instruments are not necessarily Mr. Reatard's forte. The vocal delivery, however, carries much of the weight on this album. Reatard's nasally, faux-British warble is reminiscent of early British punks, and gives the album a strange, paranoid feel. That paranoia is at its peak in the songs "Death Is Forming" and "I See You Standing There" when the vocals speed up to a frenzy.

Some listeners may find some of the lyrics over-the-top (i.e. "Fading All Away"'s "Time / will heal wounds / but I / will kill you / slowly / fading all away"), but then, they probably wouldn't by the album anyway based on the album cover. Other than killing people slowly, lyrical themes include men in garbage cans drinking piss from jars ("Puppet Man"), shadows ("My Shadow") and the Reatard family ("My Family").

-source: Punknews.org

Show More

Track Listing

  1. Blood Visions
  2. Greed, Money, Useless Children
  3. It's so Easy
  4. My Shadow
  5. My Family
  6. Death is Forming
  7. Oh It's Such a Shame
  8. Not a Substitute
  9. Nightmares
  10. I See You Standing There
  11. We Who Wait
  12. Fading All Away
  13. Turning Blue
  14. Puppet Man
  15. Waiting for Something