We see you're in the UK!

You may be able to save on shipping by shopping at our UK store.

Mississippi Hill Country Blues

R.L. Burnside

03/08/2005 | FP80341
Regular price
$ 21.00
Sale price
$ 21.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Release Description

A time capsule recorded in 1982 and 1967. It's Burnside in the raw, playing solo on acoustic guitar as he did for his neighbors for most of his early career--when farming was still his profession. Burnside reprised "Miss Maybelle," "Mellow Peaches," "Poor Boy," "Jumper on the Line," and others among these songs on his more recent albums for Fat Possum Records, but these early versions capture his driving blend of one-chord rhythm with lightning decorations of slide and melody already fully developed.

Show More

Track Listing

1. Miss Maybelle

2. House up on the Hill

3. Gone so Long

4. Skinny Woman

5. See What My Buddy Done

6. Don't Care How Long You're Gone

7. Lost Without Your Love

8. Shake 'Em on Down

9. Bad Luck and Trouble

10. Just Like a Woman

11. Grehound Bus Station

12. Crying Won't Make Me Stay

13. Rolling and Tumbling

14. Mellow Peaches

15. I Believe

16. Poor Boy

17. Poor Black Mattie

18. Jumper on the Line

19. Long Haired Doney